Qatar Reopens Borders to Foreign Travelers

Arrivals from 40 low-risk countries can now enter the Gulf state and expect shortened quarantine periods.

Traditional dhows off the Doha Corniche. (Photo: Rowen Smith/Unsplash)

As Qatar moves into the third stage of its four-phase reopening plan, travel restrictions have been lifted for residents of 40 countries deemed to have their domestic coronavirus outbreaks sufficiently under control. The complete list has been published on the website of Qatar’s Ministry of Public Health and will be reviewed every two weeks.

All incoming passengers from those nations are subject to mandatory testing at Doha’s Hamad International Airport, unless they hold a certificate issued by an accredited Covid-19 testing center less than 48 hours ahead of the trip. They must also have the Ehteraz contact-tracing app installed on their mobile devices, and sign a formal pledge stating their commitment to self-quarantine for one week, after which they will receive a second Covid-19 test at one of several dedicated health centers. Should the result be negative, the self-isolation period can end immediately. However, those who are found to be infected will be sent to a government facility for isolation.

Qatari citizens and residents returning from countries not on the “safe list” will be able to undergo a two-week home quarantine so long as they hold a “virus-free certificate” from an accredited facility issued within 48 hours of departure. Those who do not obtain a negative test result beforehand must spend the first week of self-isolation in a hotel at their own expense, and book their room through

The full list of low-risk countries is as follows:

Asia-Pacific: Australia, Brunei, China, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, South Korea, Thailand, Vietnam

Europe: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Middle East & North Africa: Algeria, Morocco, Turkey

North America: Canada

Share this Article