Singapore Cuts Quarantines to 10 Days

Fully vaccinated travelers from medium-to-high risk countries will be allowed to self-isolate at home if they meet certain criteria.

Photo: nextvoyage/Pixabay

Singapore’s Ministry of Health has announced over the weekend that new border measures will take effect from 11:59 p.m. on October 6, with the maximum length of a Stay-Home Notice (SHN) reduced from 14 to 10 days, in line with the shorter incubation period of the Delta variant. In addition, quarantine requirements will now depend on a person’s travel history in the past 14 days, instead of 21 days.

Singapore has classified all countries and territories into four groups based on the risk of Covid-19 transmission. Arrivals from higher-risk Category III and IV regions must take a PCR test upon arrival and on day 10, on top of self-administered rapid antigen tests on the third and seventh days of mandatory isolation. A 10-day quarantine in a dedicated SHN facility will cost S$1,450 (about US$1,068), compared to S$2,000 for two weeks as previously required.

Travelers coming in from Category III countries or regions who are fully vaccinated can apply to quarantine at home or other suitable accommodation like a hotel or serviced apartment, so long as they are staying alone or with household members who have also been inoculated and share the same travel history. Similarly, those with travel history to Category II places are eligible to spend seven days of self-isolation at home if they meet the aforementioned criteria. Unvaccinated Category III arrivals must serve a 10-day stay-home notice at dedicated facilities, while Category II travelers who have not been jabbed must fork out S$1,000 (US$737) for a weeklong stint in hotel quarantine.

Improvements in the Covid-19 situations of places around the world mean that a dozen jurisdictions will be moved up to Category II from 11:59 p.m. on Wednesday. These include the Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Finland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, and Sweden. At the same time, 13 countries will be newly listed as Category III: Bahrain, Bhutan, Cyprus, Fiji, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Maldives, Slovakia, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

In related news, students and workers holding long-term passes must be fully vaccinated to enter Singapore from November 1, but there is no timeline on lifting the blanket ban on non-citizens and non–permanent residents with travel history to Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

Here is a summary of the updated border measures set to kick in on Wednesday night:

Countries/Regions PCR Testing Quarantine
Category I Hong Kong, Macau, Mainland China, Taiwan Only on arrival N/A
Category II Australia, Brunei*, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Finland, Germany*, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, South Korea, Pre-departure (within 48 hours), on arrival, day 7 7 days, home quarantine permitted (if criteria met)
Category III Austria, Bahrain, Bhutan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, Fiji, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Maldives, Norway, Slovakia, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States Pre-departure, on arrival, day 10 (antigen tests also required on day 3 and 7) 10 days, home quarantine permitted (if criteria met)
Category IV All others (except Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka) 10 days

*Fully vaccinated arrivals from Brunei and Germany can apply for quarantine-free entry through the Vaccinated Travel Lane.

More details can be found here.

Share this Article

Related Posts

Singapore’s NYE Fireworks are Making a Comeback

The festivities will be held for the first time since 2019, with special events taking place along t...

Try These Austronesian-Inspired Drinks at The Capitol Kempinski

The Bar at 15 Stamford has introduced a new cocktail menu that celebrates the indigenous islanders o...

Hong Kong Eases More Covid-19 Restrictions

But a much-awaited timeframe for ending the current “0+3” entry rules has not yet materialized.

Hong Kong Partially Relaxes Restrictions on International Arrivals

From November 17, museums, theme parks, and other venues will be reopened to just-landed tourists.

Australia Lifts Ban on Unvaccinated Visitors

The latest changes to the nation’s border policy signal an end to some of its last remaining Covid...

Indonesia Drops Pre-Departure Tests for Travelers

Southeast Asia’s biggest country has finally followed in the footsteps of neighboring Malaysia and...