Thailand Eases Restrictions for Visitors from 56 Countries

The government’s Covid-19 task force is restoring visa-free access to citizens of Australia, the United States, and some Southeast Asian nations.

An aerial view of Sai Nuan Beach on Koh Tao, Thailand. (Photo: Max Böttinger/Unsplash)

Asian countries such as Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, and Japan are among those whose citizens can now enter Thailand without applying for a long-stay Special Tourist Visa. According to the Bangkok Post, the loosening of border restrictions was announced late last week by Dr. Taweesilp Visanuyothin, the spokesman for the country’s Centre for Covid-19 Situation Administration (CCSA). Incoming visitors will have to carry a medical certificate proving they do not have Covid-19 through a test conducted 72 hours before travel, as well as a booking at an Alternative State Quarantine hotel. Because of the ongoing mandatory quarantine requirement, the period of validity for visa-free travelers will be extended from the usual 30 days to 45 days.

Dr. Taweesilp also said that until December 31, a new testing process will be in place for those in self-isolation, with the number of Covid-19 tests increased to three (up from two in the past). Swab samples are being taken on the first day, the ninth or tenth day, and then the thirteenth or fourteenth day. Health officials are open to reducing the quarantine period to 10 days based on an analysis of results from the new testing regimen, a move that the government hopes will help draw foreign visitors and give Thailand’s ailing tourism industry a much-needed boost.

The visa-free scheme was initially intended for arrivals from low-risk regions, but the Thai government has opened it up to various countries that have not been able to keep their domestic coronavirus outbreaks under control. Eligible travelers include those coming from the United States, by far the worst-affected country, and visitors from 31 European nations, where the virus has been quickly spreading in recent weeks.

Scroll down to see the full list of countries and regions whose citizens are now granted visa-free access to Thailand.


Asia-Pacific Region:

Australia, Brunei, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Maldives, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Hong Kong, Vietnam


Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Middle East:

Bahrain, Israel, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Turkey, UAE

Mauritius, South Africa


Brazil, Canada, United States, Peru

Share this Article

Related Posts

Japan Sets Date for Full Border Reopening

Come October 11, the country will welcome back independent travelers and remove its daily arrivals c...

Hong Kong and Macau Ease More Pandemic Rules

A week after scrapping its amber code restrictions, the former is ditching broader capacity limits a...

China Signals Border Reopening in Early 2023

New rules due to take effect on January 8 will pave the way for an end to mandatory quarantine and o...

Hong Kong Ends Mandatory On-Arrival Testing

The government is also rolling back all social distancing measures, but masks will still be required...

Hong Kong Removes Key Covid Restrictions on Travelers

The amber health code and “0+3” policy is being scrapped, giving those who test negative on arri...

Singapore Ends All Covid-19 Restrictions

Unvaccinated travelers will be able to enter the city-state without showing proof of a negative PCR ...