What We Know So Far About Bali’s Reopening

Read on to find out more about pre-departure requirements and the official list of approved countries.

One of three Hindu temples in Ubud’s Sacred Monkey Forest. (Photo: Nick Fewings/Unsplash)

Although Bali remains on track to open tomorrow (October 14), surprisingly little information has been released, with some confusion over the length of quarantine periods and the lineup of low-risk countries whose residents will be allowed to enter. Luhut Binsar Pandjaitan, Indonesia’s Coordinating Minister of Maritime and Investment Affairs, has finally confirmed that mandatory quarantines will be cut from eight days to five for eligible travelers arriving at Bali’s Ngurah Rai International Airport.

Luhut also said foreign tourists would need to fulfill the following pre-departure requirements:

– Have a negative result for Covid-19 in a PCR test taken within 72 hours before departure.

– Carry proof of complete vaccination in English (in addition to any other language used on the official certificate), indicating they have received a second dose at least 14 days prior to the trip.

– Purchase health insurance with a minimum coverage of US$100,000, including medical treatment in case of a Covid-19 diagnosis.

– Show proof of payment for a stay booked via an accommodation provider in Indonesia or a third party.

Upon arrival, travelers must fill out an electronic health alert card (e-HAC) through the PeduliLindungi contact tracing app and undergo a PCR test at their own expense; they’ll then be allowed to wait for the result at their chosen place of accommodation. Visitors will be released from quarantine after obtaining a negative result in a PCR test on the fourth night of their stay. Officials say 35 hotels in the highly vaccinated “green zones” of Nusa Dua, Sanur, and Ubud are being prepared to accept quarantining travelers, and will not be open to domestic guests.

As for which countries are eligible, Luhut previously revealed that Singapore was off the list. He suggested the city-state had “not met the requirements or standards for Level 1, Level 2 according to WHO standards.” Level 1 countries are those with less than 20 confirmed cases per 100,000 people, and a positivity rate of under five percent when it comes to daily tests. Places are classed as Level 2 if they have similar positivity rates and between 20 and 50 cases per 100,000 residents. Singapore currently exceeds these levels, with 392 Covid-19 infections per 100,000 people reported in the last seven days.

Luhut eventually announced the official list of 19 countries late on Wednesday, hours before Bali’s scheduled reopening. Approved countries of departure include five in the Asia-Pacific — China, India, Japan, New Zealand, and South Korea — as well as five in the Middle East, namely Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the UAE. The remainder are made up of nine European nations: France, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, and Sweden.

Share this Article